RSS News Feed

Latest League News

Posted 17th June 2010, 07:30 in

Premier League Changes

It will be two up, two down, plus play-offs for Combination League runners-up, and group games for the 1st Round of the League Cup.

The FA Tesco Premier League AGM was held on June 13th at the Nottinghamshire FA headquarters, where the four Combination League champions; Coventry City, Gillingham, Rochdale and Yeovil Town, were welcomed aboard.

The members voted on a couple of issues concerning Super League clubs, one related to player eligibility. Premier League sides will only be permitted to field one player per game, who is signed to a Super League team.

Debate over the structure of the Reserve Section led to the Super League second elevens being allowed to compete alongside their Premier League conterparts.

The option not to relegate any National Division teams at the end of the 2010/11 campaign was voted against, therefore the bottom two will go down, while the top two from each of the Northern and Southern Divisions will all go up.

Only the last-placed team in each of these two divisions will be automatically demoted, with sides finishing bottom-but-one facing a play-off for their Premier League survival.

In addition to the standard four winners of the Combination Leagues coming up, the runners-up will have the chance to take part in the play-offs.

Second-placed sides in the South East and South West will meet in a one-off game, likewise those from the Midland and Northern Combinations. The victors in these games will then take on the second-bottom sides from the Northern and Southern Divisions, therefore producing three divisions of ten teams for the following season of 2011-12.

Changes too in the FA Tesco Premier League Cup, where the 1st Round will be played in regionalised groups of four, teams meeting just the once, playing two home and two away games. The top two from each group will go through, plus the two best third-placed teams.

Premier League constitution 2010/11:

National Division - Barnet, Blackburn Rovers, Leeds, Millwall Lionesses, Nottingham Forest, Reading, Sunderland, Watford.

Northern Division - Aston Villa, Coventry City, Curzon Ashton, Derby County, Leeds City Vixens, Leicester City WFC, Manchester City, Newcastle United, Preston North End, Rochdale.

Southern Division - Brighton & Hove Albion, Cardiff City, Charlton Athletic, Colchester United, Gillingham, Keynsham Town, Portsmouth, Queens Park Rangers, West Ham United, Yeovil Town.

Back to FA WPL
Maya's Amazing SSE WFA Cup Final Experience
Wilf Frith
Guernsey teenager Maya Le Tissier made her own slice of history during the SSE Women’s FA Cup final and claims the once-in-a-lifetime experience has inspired her to follow in the footsteps of her heroes. Read more


Which FA WSL1 side has done the best 'business' in transfers so far this winter?

Please select from the below choices...

  • She Kicks